Book meme

Book Meme stolen from , via . I started writing this last night, but clicked on the wrong thing (right at the end, of course) and lost it all. So I sulked and went to bed instead.

What are you reading right now?
Broken Angels by Richard Morgan. Really enjoyed his first novel Altered Carbon, which was a very noir gumshoe flick set in a future where we’ve learned how to digitise the human personality, which completely changes our idea of our own mortality (what’s so bad about death if you can just be downloaded into a new body afterwards?) Interesting conceit, interesting universe, great prose.
Longest book you’ve ever read:
Prolly Ottoman Centuries, about the rise and fall of the Ottoman Empire, though I’m sure I must’ve read something longer than that.
Strangest title of a book that you’ve read:
I’ll get back to you on that one.
Stupidest ending of a book you’ve read:
And that one too.
Which literary character have you related to the most?
Prolly Marc Remillard from Julian May‘s Saga of the Pliocene Exile and Galactic Milieu sequences
Do you prefer fiction or nonfiction?
I read both, avidly. Generally, I flit between the two, enjoying the way that each expands my mind and my frame of reference in different ways.
Did you have a series of children’s/young adult books that you once enjoyed?
I don’t feel quite so bad about saying The Famous Five, having seen that Clint did too.
Can you enjoy reading the source book after seeing the screen adaptation?
Depends; I rarely do, though.
Have you ever read a novelization of a movie or TV show?
Not generally, though I thoroughly enjoyed those that I’ve read of the canon Babylon 5 novels.
Book that “turned you on” the most, erotically speaking:
As a kid, some Vietnam pulp of dad’s, Jerry Ahern‘s Survivalist books (also dad’s) and Clive Barker‘s Books of Blood (1–3, 4–6). Since then, I don’t really read much that tends to be erotic, unless I want a wank, in which case (assuming I’m not going for Internet-based imagery or videos) I tend to go visit Nifty.
Is there a real-life person that you’ve read more than one book about?
I don’t read that many biographies.
Book that everyone’s read but you:
Harry bloody Potter, apparently
Favorite “classic” writer/novelist:
Not a big fan of the classics, really. Not sure.
Favorite contemporary novelist (let’s say 1950s on):
British authors all: Jon Courtenay Grimwood, Alastair Reynolds and Richard Morgan makes a recent addition. I quite like the (non-Brit) SM Stirling as well; his Draka althistory is very engaging.
Favorite short story writer:
Not sure, but Harry Turtledove is likely to be in my top 10.
Favorite columnist/journalistic writer:
Not sure, but I’d prolly put John Kampfner very near the top.
Favorite poet:
Generally, I dislike poetry, though I too quite like Coleridge and I remember liking Tennyson‘s The Lady of Shalott. I know I’d put something else here last night, but I forget what…
Favorite guilty pleasure book or series:
I’ll get back to you on this one.
Favorite book by written by a famous actor or musician:
As Clint wrote, I really like Stephen Fry‘s work. I really enjoyed his Monte Cristo, The Star’s Tennis Balls, but Making History is just outstanding!
Author whose work you once enjoyed but no longer do:
Despite loving Julian May‘s stuff as a teen, I just can’t get into any of her other works.
Favorite comics/graphic fiction author:
(Poppy added this one to the meme.) Joss Whedon, JMS.

Ymatebwch

