Flickr = censorship


Flickr = censorship
Originally uploaded by OwenBlacker

Flickr is now engaging in outright censorship.

The ridiculous over-prudishness of their safe-search settings, which mean that entire photostreams disappear from public view because of non-adult nudity, was bad enough.

Now German users (amongst others) can’t turn off safe search at all, even if they’re firmly over 18 and want to see content that the Daily Mail might not approve of.

Worse, Flickr is deleting dissenting comments in its discussion fora.

I don’t feel I can continue to support a site that’s more bothered by appeasing religious nuts in the US than freedom across the globe. I doubt I’ll renew my Pro status and I’ve yet to decide whether or not I’ll be staying on Flickr for much longer.

Flickr, if you really loved us, you’d set us free.

Ymatebwch

